Kitten in the Dark

On my walk in the dead of night
I see a blur in the distance
Now I know that this should cause me fright
This mysterious blob now in my sight

As I come closer to my fate
The shape emerges clear
And I know I have no reason to hate
In fact, what I see would actually hate negate

Imagining I must be insane
The meowing sets me sensible
A cat I’ve met makes my guard wane
My heart has known true gain

My new friend and I both cry out
We’ve found our sister souls
Though she meows and I have a coughing bout
My feline follows me, and neither pout

At least, it’s what the kitten tried to do
I walked so slowly, followed
Knowing fate had spoken true
When the black cat rubbed against me and started to mew

It climbed my leg and begged for love
How could I say no?
My soulmate met in the dark above
I’d want her close even if she downed a dove

A magic night we two girls had
On a chilly Tuesday night
Though she left me standing sad
Spooked by a car, she ran away glad

4 thoughts on “Kitten in the Dark

  1. Hahaha! Good one. I love your kitty encounter.
    Thanks for bringing this to the party. Have fun clicking around and meeting my guests! Tell them, “Susie sent me,” and they should click back here.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

