Roommates

There’s a spider in my bedroom
Doing things I’d never do
Sitting still, lying in wait
Not snacking, is there even a view?

Right between my mama’s boots
And an orange rocking chair
You’ve moved in while I’ve been gone
I’ve been trying not to stare

Spider, could we be more different?
Sharing a space but nothing more
I wonder if you exercise
Or is dieting how you keep fat-poor?

I tend to stay away from bugs
I don’t like things that crawl around
You’ve got six legs that I do not
I’ll keep my two to stay my ground

Some could call you arachnid
I won’t squish you if you stay
You’ve only moved a little bit
But get ideas and you will pay

4 thoughts on “Roommates

Leave a Reply

