Monsters in the Nightlight

In the morning I’m a monster
An uncoordinated mess
I’m sorry if I poked your eye
I’m clumsy, I confess

And once I punched you in my sleep
I swear an accident
Luckily when you woke up
Your condition was near mint

When I wake up I groan to you
About the loud alarm
It’s one I set myself, I know
It doesn’t cause me harm

In my youth I sleep-walked
And now I just sleep-fight
An elbow for some covers
Why can’t I just sleep tight?

A habitual insomniac
For now it seems I’m cured
But at what price for you
With all you have endured?

Leave a Reply

